Lighten Hair Color with Cinnamon

English: Cinnamon

English: Cinnamon (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I found this pin on pinterest of this girl that lightened her hair and it was so gorgeous. Of course, now I can’t find that pin, but I remembered that the girl said she lightened her hair with cinnamon and she hadn’t had previously dyed her hair but she did have highlights and the cinnamon mixture enhanced them. I had highlights about two years ago and they were cinnamon red, so I wanted to try this cinnamon mix to see if I could achieve a reddish color in my hair.

So I just combined two recipes I found online, but really all you need to do is eyeball everything and mix well.

  • 1/2 cup of conditioner
  • 1/2 cup of olive oil ( or favorite hair oil, I used Organix moroccan argan oil and olive oil. It’s really all up to you and what you have)
  • Juice from one lemon
  • 3-4 tablespoon Cinnamon

You want to mix that until you get a paste like consistency ( it’s okay if it’s slightly runny). Depending on the results you are looking for, applying the mixture all over your hair or on the sections of hair for the highlighted effect.

For the best results you want to apply this to your hair and wrap the hair with saran wrap then a shower cap and take it out after 6-8 hours. The lightening won’t show immediately but this is just depending on your hair color so two or three applications over the span of a month may give you the desired results.

Leave a Reply

